my night light (poem)
11:59 a.m. | 2007-06-29


you flicker like a night light
in the back of my buried mind
and it's only then
in the darkest of darks
that my heart lets you in again

your breath as you walk with me
last night as we clutched at each other
drowning in the ocean it seemed
the night before i woke with a smile on my lips
knowing you had been near

a month or six ago you draped your arm across
the top of my shoulders
while we settled into the soft blue folds
of that big comfy couch

you flicker like a night light
in the back of my buried mind
and it's then, and only then
in the very darkest of all darks
that my heart dares to let you in again

<< dirty || dirtier >>

- - Jan. 15, 2015
? - Apr. 22, 2013
- Aug. 08, 2011
:( - Apr. 18, 2011
time machine - Jan. 07, 2011
now | then | me | book | notes | links | layout | d-land